Constitution  (2005) (excerpts) (Hierarchy of Legal Acts)


SEVENTH REVISION [2005] (excerpts)


Article 112

1. Legislation shall comprise laws, executive laws and regional legislative decrees.
2. Without prejudice to the subordination to the corresponding laws of executive laws that are enacted under legislative authorisation and of those that develop the basic general elements of the legal systems, laws and executive laws shall possess equal force.
3. Organisational laws, laws that must be passed by a two-thirds majority, and laws which under this Constitution are compulsory legal prerequisites for other laws or which must be obeyed by other laws, shall possess superior force.
4. Without prejudice to the provisions of Article 227(1)b and c, legislative decrees shall possess a regional scope and shall address such matters set out in the political and administrative statute of the autonomous region in question as are not the exclusive responsibility of the bodies that exercise sovereign power.
5. No law shall create other categories of legislation, or grant other types of act the power to interpret, integrate, modify, suspend or revoke any of its provisions in such  a way as to produce effects in relation to third parties.
6. Government regulations shall take the form of regulatory orders when so required by the law they regulate, as well as in the case of independent regulations.
7. Regulations shall make express mention of the laws which they are intended to regulate, or which lay down the subjective and objective power to issue them.
8. The transposition of European Union legislation and other legal acts into the internal legal system shall take the form of a law, an executive law, or, in accordance with (4) above, a regional legislative decree.